Anacostia Watershed Community Advisory Committee (AWCAC)

The Anacostia Watershed Community Advisory Committee (AWCAC) serves as the citizen stewards and advocates for the Anacostia Watershed restoration. This committee provides a vital link between the watershed citizen communities and local governments and ensures that public interests are considered during all restoration-related activities. The AWCAC chair is a member of the Steering and Management Committees. This Committee meets six times a year, in the evening.

    The citizen-based committee is comprised of an 18-member Board comprised of representatives from each of the three jurisdictions (Montgomery and Prince George's Counties, Maryland and the District of Columbia) of the Anacostia Watershed. The qualification for membership on the AWCAC is an active interest in the effort to restore and preserve the Anacostia Watershed. Membership in a local civic association or environmental group active in the watershed is desirable but not essential. AWCAC meetings are open to all interested persons.

    To simply join the mailing list send an email to Join List serv.

    To apply for AWCAC membership, submit a statement of your interest in representing your area:

    • e-mail to: AWCAC Chair, Partnership or
    • Mail to:
      Aubin Maynard
      Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, Suite 300
      777 N. Capitol Street, N.E.
      Washington, D.C. 20002-4201
    • For more information contact Aubin Maynard (COG) at 202 962-3233

 Meeting Dates

Current Chairs

  • Trey Sherard, Chair
    District of Columbia
  • Marian Dombroski, Vice-Chair
    Prince George's County
  • Wendy Howard, Vice-Chair
    Montgomery County